Articles | Disneyland | Walt Disney World
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Wilma...

Unhappy Wilma...

Me and the wife have our big trip to WDW coming up. We'll be arriving on 10/22 and wouldn't you know it, tropical Storm/Hurricane Wilma is probably headed towards Florida this weekend. Does anybody in the Orlando area have a better idea of how severe it'll be? On the weather websites it just says "thunderstorms" for sat-sun., and then it's sunny the rest of the week.

I was hoping someone who lives in Orlando or Florida perhaps had a better idea of what the severity will be in the Orlando area.

I hope its not too bad, this is my first time going to WDW and I've been looking forward to it all year!

2. # ADS

Ready for MA World Explorers! Drince88's Avatar
    Blog Entries

I'm not in the Orlando area, but I can offer you this information.

The forecasts for this far out are VERY tentative. I did read the 5pm Eastern advisory today, and they thought it might be reach a Cat 3. I would look at the National Hurricane Center forecasts over the regular 'weather' because of how they do things. My favorite site is the official site: www.nhc.noaa.gov

That said, Orlando is in the 'middle' of the penninsula. That helps A LOT with the severity. Also, if it goes on the current projected path, Orlando will be on the 'dry' side of the storm. Dry is VERY relative, but it is a ray of hope, too.

There were some posts/threads after the couple that impacted the Orlando area last year that talked about what Disney did - you might want to go look those up and see what you would be in for, worst case. (And those two last year were VERY unusual in the impact they made in Orlando!)