PDA

View Full Version : Lasagna at Golden Vine

Pages : [1] 2

SzczerbiakManiac
09-03-2002, 02:54 PM
Whilst dining at the Golden Vine Winery restaurant.. place.. thing.. yesterday, I couldn't help overhearing (because she couldn't shut up about it :rolleyes: ) a woman make inquiries to the server about the Lasagna Rustica (aka Sausage Lasagna). When the server returned, I heard her say something I found amusing: although they top it with their own sauce, the lasagna is from Stouffer's. Not that this is necessarily a bad thing (it's darn good lasagna), I just thought of GVW as a slightly more upscale restaurant.

For the record, I'm a 20-year veteran of the food service industry and I'm well aware that many restaurants use frozen items--especially desserts. It doesn't bother me unless, of course, they try to pass it off as "home made".

hbquikcomjamesl
09-03-2002, 03:18 PM
If I remember right, isn't (or wasn't at one time) Stouffer's the sponsor of at least one restaurant in DL?

Andrew
09-03-2002, 03:44 PM
Plaza Pavillion. :(

JeffG
09-03-2002, 03:48 PM
They also still sponsor The French Market.

-Jeff

RStar
09-03-2002, 04:33 PM
I agree that the frozen Stouffer's Lazagna is great, but when I go to a resturaunt (or wine tasting plaza or whatever they want to call that place) I EXPECT fresh made food. Not frozen. Now if I was at a caffateria or buffateria, that would be different. In fact if they told me it was Stouffer's I'd be all over it. However, it's expectations that matter when you are paying a premium for table sevice. I'd be upset too!