PDA

View Full Version : A Duck Question

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

K & S
06-16-2007, 04:35 PM
This time of year I have a lot of out of town guests and of course they all want to go to Disneyland. Always happy for a reason to go to the park, I've sometimes visited two or three times a week.

I've noticed that ducklings disappear practically overnight. At the entrance to Frontierland there was a mother duck with twelve newly hatched ducklings, and the next day the ducklings were gone.

Are the ducklings removed to control the population?

evrythngwmn
06-16-2007, 04:42 PM
Unfortunately a lot of them are eaten by other birds/animals.

crrees
06-16-2007, 05:00 PM
Unfortunately a lot of them are eaten by other birds/animals.

what she said...

notice all the heavy cats?

K & S
06-16-2007, 05:21 PM
what she said...

I've had some experience with raising ducklings, and the cats aren't getting very many of them. The parents always keep the ducklings near the water and if they sense any danger they’re all in the water ASAP.

A few years ago two ducks nested in the yard of my apartment building and had twelve ducklings, which they raised in my swimming pool. It became a war between the County Health Department and the Federal Fish and Game Department. The County said they had to be moved and the Feds said they couldn’t be touched. We had local news crews out here and then kids from the local elementary school walking over for field trips.

The Feds don’t call them ducks, according to them they are Wild Migratory Water Fowl and protected during the nesting season. The Feds won, locked the pool gates and we had to keep the pool somewhat clean with fourteen ducks pooping in it for six weeks.

julbright
06-16-2007, 05:50 PM
there were quite a few ducklings in the water off the hungry bear dock last weekend...

stan4d_steph
06-16-2007, 06:56 PM
Night herons will eat baby ducks. I've seen them hanging around a few times.

VickiC
06-16-2007, 07:41 PM
what she said...