PDA

View Full Version : Trip Report 06/09/07 - Imagineer Encounter!

animagusurreal
06-13-2007, 02:30 AM
It was Saturday, June 9th, 2 days after my 26th birthday. My mother and I (going to DL is a family tradition) were outside the Holiday Inn & Suites on Walnut, waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the ART bus to the park. It was about 4:00 PM, and we were just going to the park for our one and only day there (we had gotten a late start out of Santa Maria and, after sailing through most of the drive, had gotten stuck in traffic in L.A. and Orange County)

A man and woman came out of the front door with a luggage cart full of Nemo-related artwork (which my mother initially mistook for Little Mermaid artwork ). I thought that perhaps an independant artist had done some Disney-inspired artwork (as with Thomas Kincade and Thomas "Biff Tannen" Wilson) and was doing a signing somewhere. Being an artist myself, I wanted to talk to them, but I wasn't sure if either of them was actually the artist, or if they were just helping them move the artwork. Just as I was about to ask who the artist was, a minivan drove up and a man got out of it. My mother asked him, "Are you the artist?"

"I'm one of them," he said modestly.

After a moment of mental processing, I asked him, "are you Tony Baxter?"

"Yes I am."

"Oh, my GOD!" I exclaimed. "You're one of my heroes!"

I told him that I had been seen him in Disney "Making Of..." specials since I was a little kid.

He asked me "have you been on it yet?" by which I took to mean the Nemo Subs. I answered that I hadn't, because I wasn't an APer. He told me that the day before, they had breifly accepted regular guests, and suggested I try stopping by there that day.

I asked for his autograph, and pulled out a bic pen and a pocket notebook, the only pen and paper I had with me.

He told me to put them away, and reached into a box in the back of the van, pulling out a Nemo Subs pin, which he signed with a silver-ink pen.