PDA

View Full Version : Renting DVC points to friend for WDW trip. How?

ChuckC
05-15-2007, 10:55 AM
A friend who knows that I am a DVC member has asked if I would be willing to rent points to him and his wife for a wedding anniversary trip to WDW. I have no problems with the idea since I have sufficient points. However, I have never done this before and I am not too sure of how to proceed.

1) The date of his trip will fall within my own trip to the World. Could this be a problem when I make reservations for his trip?

2) (actually related to 1)) When I do make reservations do I make them in my name or do I tell Customer Relations that I am renting my points to X?

3) If I am able to get by 1) and 2), how do I value the rented points? Do I base it on what a vacation would cost at the particular resort? Or do I place a dollar amount on the number of points? I'm not looking to soak him but I don't want to just "give" the points to him.

GusMan
05-15-2007, 11:22 AM
While I am not a member yet, this is how it was done when I rented points from someone... he gave me some good insight. However, it will yield to any other member who has more accurate info.

1) The date of his trip will fall within my own trip to the World. Could this be a problem when I make reservations for his trip?
---- I dont think this will be a problem since you are making ressies for someone else.

2) (actually related to 1)) When I do make reservations do I make them in my name or do I tell Customer Relations that I am renting my points to X?
---- You put the reservation in their name. You do not have to tell them that you are renting points or anything like that.

3) If I am able to get by 1) and 2), how do I value the rented points? Do I base it on what a vacation would cost at the particular resort? Or do I place a dollar amount on the number of points? I'm not looking to soak him but I don't want to just "give" the points to him.