PDA

View Full Version : My First Trip Report - 11/06

ShirleyFilms
01-02-2007, 08:48 AM
This is my first attempt at writing a "trip report". I feel strange posting it... but I always get such enjoyment from reading the experiences of others, that I thought I would go ahead and post it. It is a bit belated... but what the heck.

My wife, my son and I all have annual passes, so we have been to Disneyland a few times in the past year (being a mere 6 hour drive from Phoenix). However, my mothers birthday was in November, so we decided to take her along this time. We prepared a special birthday card that included a certificate that we made up (complete with Disney logos and pics of Tinkerbell and Mickey). This certificate entitled her to "one magical trip to Disneyland". When our 5 year old presented her with the card, she quickly became teary-eyed. To say that it has been a stressful year for my mom is an understatement, so it wasn't totally unexpected when she cried and hugged us all and said, "I could really use a magical vacation. Thank you".

We drove out on a Friday night - after work. Took a wrong turn somehow - ended up halfway to San Diego... then righted ourselves, drove very fast, and made it to our hotel only about an hour late. We all slept and prepared to wake up early the next day.

Of course, the 5 year old was up before the alarm clock went off. So we all made it to the park right as it was opening. My mom was further surprised when we walked to her to the Main Street Bank to have her photo taken - for her new annual pass!

The first thing we did was Splash Mountain. Since there was no one else in line, when we came to the end of the ride, they asked us if we wanted to ride again... we readily accepted. I love Splash Mountain. To me, it embodies everything that is great about Disneyland - but that's just me. :)