PDA

View Full Version : When exactly does all the 50th stuff disappear?

disneychick
05-08-2006, 02:23 PM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm hoping ya'll can help me out! :) I've been reading through messages as I have time, but one thing I haven't been able to determine is WHEN exactly the decorations, merchandise, etc. for the 50th celebrations will be gone.

I'm taking my family to DLR in mid-September, and we were really hoping to catch the tail end of the anniversary (as it was my understanding that it didn't end until mid-Oct/Nov). From some things I've been reading, it sounds like it may all be over by then? If anyonce "in the know" could clarify for me, I'd really be grateful! :)

Also - in the event that we're too late, will it still be possible to buy 50th merchandise? I'm mainly thinking clothing or small souvenirs, but possibly other items like commemorative plates or figurines.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

Frogberto
05-08-2006, 02:27 PM
If it truly is an "18 month celebration", as Disney keeps saying, then October would be the date. However, as Dark Beer has posted recently, some indicia of the 50th, like the fireworks show and parade, may be disappearing on September 24th, to make room for the Holiday parades and shows.

Darkbeer
05-08-2006, 02:43 PM
The last day of the celebration is Sunday, October 1st per Disney.

Now, what does this mean....

Well, between October 2nd, and November 10th (Start of the Christmas season), you should see most of the gold paint disappear (things like Lamp Posts, golden vehicles, etc), the 50th logos and banners, the 5 crowns on the castle, etc. The Parade of Dreams is rumored to remain, though it might have a new introduction.

Some things will end prior to October 1st, the Snow White musical will end in late August, Block Party Bash should end around Labor Day (A new Pixar themed parade is scheduled to premiere in May of 2007 (strong rumor).