PDA

View Full Version : When do the DLR hotels release previously booked rooms?

jrsharp21
09-23-2005, 01:10 PM
When do the DLR Hotels usually release rooms that were previously booked? I am hoping to maybe catch a low room rate on Expedia for the three days we are going in October.

09-24-2005, 09:39 AM
This is the $100,000 question. Does anyone have a clue or maybe some experience?

potzbie
09-24-2005, 09:57 AM
I am no expert in hotel management.

But if a phone call comes in, or e-mail comes in, or a fax comes in, at the hour of, say, 8:01 a.m., then, at my computer terminal, if I were to work for the hotel, at 8:02 a.m., when I click the button that says "cancel reservation," the room is then freed up for anyone with access to the hotel reservation system to re-book.
(As a simultaneous email or letter is generated, automatically, by the computer's "cancellation" script, as triggered by clicking the appropriate button, to be sent out to the guest, with a confirmation number.)

I cannot speak for Disney.
I cannot speak for Expedia.

I don't know whether Expedia or Travelocity or Priceline or the Auto Club, etc., update their records daily, hourly, in five-minute intervals, or whether they have direct and instant access to the computer reservation system.

You might be better off phoning Expedia and asking directly, "When a Disney guest cancels a room, how fast does Expedia pick up on that cancellation for me to grab that room?"

Their answer might not match Travelocity's answer, which might not match AAA's answer, which not match Priceline's answer, .... (etc.).

EXAMPLE:
One travel agency buys in blocks.
So, for this agency, there is no relationship between a given guest's cancellation and the inventory of rooms available, since the guest's room is never a part of the inventory as blocked out by the travel agency's pre-established block of rooms.