PDA

View Full Version : RideMax Critique Plus Conventional and Unconventional Usage on August 1-4 Trip

HydroGuy
08-11-2005, 11:21 AM
First let me say that I am a RideMax fan. I am a software developer, and think RideMax is a creative piece of software and I hope it achieves increasing success. Any comments that are not strictly positive are intended to help others better understand what it can and cannot do. FYI, the RideMax website is www.ridemax.com.

We went to DLR on Aug 1-4. I bought RideMax in May and experimented with it for several months. I consider myself a DL veteran. The unconventional RideMax usage proved to be the most valuable for us.

UNCONVENTIONAL USAGE

The wait time data in RideMax is designed to allow people to achieve the itineraries. Thus the wait time data typically overestimates actual wait times. With this caveat, I spent several hours before our trip dumping RideMax itinerary data into Microsoft Excel. I used mathematical curve fitting routines to create daily wait time profiles of all DL rides. I did the same for DCA. I printed out the DL data for each day, and the DCA data for the same day was printed on the other side. The screen capture <link deleted> shows the printout for DL on Monday Aug 1. I referred to the daily sheet numerous times throughout our trip, as we typically were not following a strict RideMax itinerary but were deciding on which rides to go based on previous experience, how we felt at the moment, and projected RideMax wait times.

CONVENTIONAL USAGE

I printed up a conventional RideMax itinerary for DL on Aug 1 and for DCA on Aug 2. We ended up not following the Aug 1 itinerary, but we did follow the Aug 2 DCA daytime itinerary although California Screamin' was down which changed things a bit. I did not print anything up for Aug 3 or 4, as we planned a lot of shows on Aug 3 and on Day 4 I expected (correctly BTW) that we would be hitting rides we missed and going one last time on our favorites.