PDA

View Full Version : Raking It In

Barbossa
08-01-2005, 08:11 PM
Does anyone have a ballpark figure for a typical day's (say Saturday, high season) revenue at:

1. Disneyland?
2. DLR (Parks, DTD, Hotels etc.)?

I'm entering my DLR receipts into Quicken (I'm an engineer by day, accountant by night) and it's clear just how much one family spends at that place. They've gotta be raking in $$$ by the trainload!

coronado_g
08-01-2005, 11:51 PM
I'd guess:
1. Disneyland - 1 million
2. DLR - 2 million

These are totally ballpark figures from an unqualified person.

MyBeast
08-02-2005, 01:46 AM
You also have to realize they spend a lot of money per day too... fireworks are expensive and they have 20,000 employees to pay. They also have to buy supplies, repairs etc...

Pat-n-Eil
08-02-2005, 07:12 AM
From what I've read - you can estimate about 56,000 attendees for Disneyland and about 13,000 for DCA on a particular day.

What I don't know is how to filter or divvy up the multi-day parkhoppers and how many are single day tickets. I also don't know what percentage of their income is from concessions versus park entry.

So I would just go from my own experiences which is totally unscientific.

We buy a multi day parkhopper for 4 at about $140 each (divided by 4) means $35/day entry fee per person that includes both parks.

We usually have at least one meal there - and you can't get a meal for 4 for less that 40 bucks, no matter what it is and drinks, snacks.. We also get everyone a shirt or garment which probably runs $30 each, but not every day - just like one or two per trip..

So totally rough calculations - and not accounting for maintenance or payroll or utilities deductions.. I'd guess the average to be at least $60/day per person.

How about 70,000 guests x $60/day =

Just over $4 Million/day.

Pat-n-Eil
08-02-2005, 07:19 AM