PDA

View Full Version : Kids Fly Free Promo - Why so expensive?

JosieGirl71
03-25-2005, 03:32 PM
I just went on AlaskaAir's website and priced a 2 night stay and a 4 night stay for my youngest son and myself. No way was his airfare half price as the prices were $1100 and $1200 respectively. Is that normal or am I doing something wrong?

siamese1975
03-25-2005, 05:18 PM
Being a travel agent, I have noticed that when I price out a "kids fly free" package the air pricing is always "adjusted" accordingly by the airlines....making the adults flights more expensive than they usually are. What I usually do is price out flights without the "kids fly free" and compare the difference:) If all else fails, call Alaska airlines and get them to quote you and question why it is still so expensive.

Terri
03-25-2005, 06:08 PM
It all depends on when you're going, where you are staying, times you are flying, etc. Did you accept their flight times, or did you choose your own? Which airport are you flying into and from where. What extras?

I scheduled my flight for memorial day weekend, flying from ANC to SNA on 5/26 and returning on 6/1, staying at the DLH and a 3-day package in the park. We also chose the shuttle and not the bus for airport transportation = approx $2400. The same trip but staying at HJ came in at around $1400. So, yeah...they do raise the price of airfare, but coming from Alaska, it's what we would pay anyway. The way I get around it is to use a mileage ticket for my husband to fly and pay individually for his DL ticket and airport transportation. This comes in less that $200 total so, for $2600 we have a trip for 3 to the happiest place on earth! ;)

Yeah...kids fly free is jacked up, but sometimes it's still cheaper than other packages...

MommyTo3Boys1Girl
03-25-2005, 09:48 PM