PDA

View Full Version : Ramen noodles?

MikeDemo
02-17-2005, 12:00 PM
As a college student I eat a never ending diet of ramon noodles (2 packs per meal, 2 meals a day) and some bread. I only use 1 flavor pack per 2 packs to try to cut down on the damn salt. Is most of the "bad" stuff is ramon in that flavor pack?

Lani
02-17-2005, 12:39 PM
As a college student I eat a never ending diet of ramon noodles (2 packs per meal, 2 meals a day) and some bread. I only use 1 flavor pack per 2 packs to try to cut down on the damn salt. Is most of the "bad" stuff is ramon in that flavor pack?The flavor pack usually consists of MSG, and it usually has way too much salt.

But forget the flavor packet. Instant ramen noodles are deep fried.

Super cheap, but ramen is really pretty bad. If you embellish it with an egg, onions, meat, veggies, etc. you're diluting its poor nutrition qualities, but it's still generally very bad for you.

02-17-2005, 12:45 PM
Samtron, I'd like to follow up on what Lani says about sodium. Look up the sodium on one of those ramen packets. Now multiply it by 4 to get what you're taking in by eating those 4 packets every day.

Now read this article (http://observer.case.edu/cgi-bin/article.py?id=105).

Edited to add: Recommended daily sodium intake is 2,300 mg or less, about 1 teaspoon of salt.

Andrew
02-17-2005, 12:50 PM
Samtron, I'd like to follow up on what Lani says about sodium. Look up the sodium on one of those ramen packets. Now multiply it by 4 to get what you're taking in by eating those 4 packets every day.

To which I can only add, Sodium! (ftp://pop1.science.widener.edu/pub/mst3k/MS/817b.wav)

Warning: It's pretty loud.

Stupid_American
02-17-2005, 03:43 PM
Breakfast cereal is a good source of collegiate nutrition.

Mooshu
02-17-2005, 05:34 PM
I LOVE RAMEN!!! When I was in college that's all I ate also...try pasta with jar sauce. Much better for you and just as cheap in the long run.:D

stan4d_steph
02-17-2005, 06:04 PM