PDA

View Full Version : We are going to drive

MommyTo3Boys1Girl
02-14-2005, 08:13 AM
When I lived in Glendale, AZ, we use to drive all the time to DL. In fact after I graduated from high school 2 of my friends and I drove. Since we are spending this winter in AZ, DH suggested we drive. While we can fly for free, it is spring break here and the flights could be full, we go standby for free, and with 5 of us, since my stepson will be joining us, it might be hard for us all to get on. PLUS the traveling with the 2 kids, 2 carseats, my double stroller which DH affectionately calls The People Mover, and all the clothes we will need, including my extra bag for DL goodies, driving sounds pretty appealing. DH and I are usually not speaking by the time we arrive when we fly anyway. hehe So I am buying some new DVDs for the drive, and we are going to drive. Mapquest showed it was 5 1/2 hours from our house in Glendale, AZ to HoJo, that was traveling at 75mph. Just trying to figure out what time we should leave. I think we should leave in the morning and try to get there around 4. We can do Downtown Disney for dinner, I can run Brooks, my oldest, in to the park so he can get his first AP picture, and get to bed early so we can start the day rested. But, will we be arriving right in the middle of rush hour? Is there really a rush hour or is there just always traffic? TIA!

hbquikcomjamesl
02-14-2005, 08:21 AM
Oh, yes, there really is a rush hour. Actually several. I wouldn't advise trying to get anywhere in a hurry in Southern California between 6 and 9 AM, or between 4 and 7 PM.

bassett1976
02-14-2005, 08:31 AM
I think we should leave in the morning and try to get there around 4.

May I suggest trying to get to the HoJo by 2 pm at the latest. Orange County traffic can be a nightmare.

02-14-2005, 09:00 AM