PDA

View Full Version : The other guy [Piano Player]

RobRoz
01-26-2005, 01:08 PM
Hi, Can anyone tell me the name of the Piano player at the Corner Cafe on Mainstreet? (The one that plays afternoons)
I know Rod Miller plays evenings, I was trying to figure out the other guys name. Thanks

disneyhound
01-26-2005, 01:15 PM
Reel Coors? :p

Sheila
01-26-2005, 01:55 PM
Hi, Can anyone tell me the name of the Piano player at the Corner Cafe on Mainstreet? (The one that plays afternoons)
I know Rod Miller plays evenings, I was trying to figure out the other guys name. Thanks

Johnny, I believe. Can't remember his last name though. Nice guy, too!

hbquikcomjamesl
01-26-2005, 04:21 PM
Rod is (or at least claims to be) self-taught, from slowing down player piano rolls. He's also very fussy about tuning, and will often take out the tuning hammer and mutes if there's a note that's especially bothering him. He's got lots of "schtick," including an arrangement of "Take Me Out to the Ballpark" for piano and music rack (the latter providing a "slapstick" sound effect representing the crack of a bat), and at least one piece in which "in the know" guests provide "tap dancing" sound effects with quarters on the top lid hinge.

Johnny is a music teacher, and I understand he holds his student recitals at the Coke Corner. He's perhaps best known for his "Mickey Mouse's Piano" routine with kids, whereby he guides them in a one-finger arrangement of some Disney melody, providing left-hand accompaniment. Perhaps because he's a music teacher, he's also a bit more inclined to turn the piano over to any and all guests expressing an interest in showing off their own chops. He also has a rather heavier touch than Rod, frequently leaving the piano a bit out of tune. And if a string is worn out, it usually seems to break on his shift.