PDA

View Full Version : California Sales Tax

LKSearcy
11-22-2001, 08:10 PM
How much is the sales :confused: tax? What gets taxed besides merchandise? Alaska doesn't have any sales tax. :D

bluepearl
11-22-2001, 08:20 PM
I'm not an expert on this, but I believe in L.A. county, the tax is 8%. There are some places - like the Inland Empire - where tax is 7.75%. And in Anaheim, I believe the tax is 7.75%. I don't believe that candy is taxed - but that's only an assumption because when I worked in a retail shop, we never charged tax on candy.

AIRLINE
11-22-2001, 08:23 PM
In Orange County, the sales tax is 7.5 % on just about everything, except for most food sold in grocery stores (carbonated soda is taxed) and prescription medicine.

We expect the sales tax rate is going back-up to 7.75 % January 1, 2002, now that the state of California's tax revenues have dramatically dropped from year ago levels.

Newspapers, books and magazines are also taxed.

zapppop
11-22-2001, 08:25 PM
Orange County is 7.75% and elsewhere it's 8.25%.

Something like that.

tinkfreak
11-22-2001, 09:55 PM
Sales tax in Anaheim is actually 7.50% right now. Yes, we do charge tax on candy, at least at DL and DCA.

People that come in and say (seriously) "I'm from Oregon, so I don't pay tax" need to go back to Oregon. If I took a trip to Oregon, when I paid for stuff I wouldn't say "I'm from CA, please charge me tax", would I??????

Nigel2
11-22-2001, 10:11 PM
I remember that for a while disneyland had special items that had the tax already factored in to them, I think it had to do more with the fact that a bunch of people were going to buy them and making change could be a lesser hassle if its a whole dollar ammount.

EandCDad
11-23-2001, 05:50 AM
Looking at my receipts from the Candy Palace on main street in DL I learn three things:

1. Candy is a rip-off at the Candy Palace on Main Street

2. The sales tax is charged

3. It is 7.5%