PDA

View Full Version : Relationship between Disney and MGM

thekirk
08-29-2004, 08:57 PM
Does Disney own MGM, or do they just work together?

iwannabeanimagineer
08-30-2004, 07:39 AM
I'm no expert, but since no one else has responded, I'll give it a shot!

It's my understanding that MGM and Disney signed a partnership agreement in order to build and operate the Disney/MGM studios, using both Disney and MGM copyrighted images and characters. I believe the goal was to take away theme park market share from Universal by opening a movie-studio-themed park (with a backlot tour) and to use the Disney and MGM names and intellectual properties to assure its preeminence. The Great Movie Ride is the best (only?) example of how the MGM characters and images were used.

Another media partnership, this time between Disney and Henson, came about during the development of the Disney/MGM Studio as well, resulting in the Muppetvision 3-D attractions at MGM and DCA and the appearances of Muppet costumed characters for at least the first few years of MGM park operation. Henson later sued Disney for using the Muppet characters beyond the terms of their agreement and I have seen much less of the Muppets in Disney theme parks since then.

Now, if only Disney could work a sweetheart deal with J.K. Rowling and the other rights-holders to Harry Potter, we could get a Harry Potter attraction at the Disney parks! (I was sad to see the Seuss characters show up at Universal instead of Disney.)

Disney Vault
08-30-2004, 08:27 AM
I dont like seeing non-disney things being brought into the disney parks. The muppets are okay because disney now owns them but i dont want any harry potter or Seuss characters. And their is already a Warner brothers park somewhere that has a Harry potter attraction.

iwannabeanimagineer
08-30-2004, 08:39 AM
And their is already a Warner brothers park somewhere that has a Harry potter attraction.
Cool! Is it in the U.S.?

JeffG
08-30-2004, 11:11 AM