PDA

View Full Version : Auditioning to be a face character... any personal stories or tips?

Pages : [1] 2

AliceinWonderland84
04-04-2004, 03:34 PM
I've been acting since I was 7 years old (I will be 20 in a month) and have performed in over 20 plays and 1 movie. Everyone tells me I look like Alice in Wonderland (even last year when I went to Disneyland) some guy stopped me and was like "Hey! You look like Alice." Ha.

So I've decided this summer would be the best one to go down and be a face character...IF i get offered a role. I'm not expecting anything....I have been in the "business" for long enough to know that its full of disappointments and hard knocks. But the jarring thing was when I was reading people's personal stories and people were saying that the casting directors when turning people down for roles were outright saying they were too fat for the roles, too old, too ugly, etc. Not only is that rude, but that is extremely unprofessional. I am well aware that when auditioning for movies and plays, I'm sure talk like that goes on amoungst themselves, but I have never heard of anyone coming outright and saying such terrible things to an auditionee. I know a girl who said she knows a lot of disney casting directors and they would NEVER say anything like that and that these stories are most likely from bitter individuals who did not get the roles they were after. What have been your personal experiences?

Also, I was wondering if I should bring along my headshot, theatrical resume and work resume? It doesn't specifically say to for face character auditions, but it might look good.

Tambour
04-04-2004, 03:59 PM
Don't belive everything you read about the audition process.

They don't need you to bring your headshot & resume but it doesn't hurt. They will take a polaroid of you, and that it what will be stapled to the front of your audition card. If you take your headshot, it will be on the back and MAY get looked at.