PDA

View Full Version : Disneyland subs theory

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

thrilledwill
12-25-2003, 04:13 PM
Hey all, this is my first time posting but I came up with an idea that hopefully hasnt been discussed here yet, but from what Ive seen, I dont think it has. I was at disneyland the other day, my first time in about 8 years, and the place was a great as ever. I have been following the Subs and BTMR threads here for a little while and became intriged.

I realize there is much speculation about the return of the subs recently, and I would be willing to put money on it after my recent epiphany. Disney has become famous for its horizontal integration between movie/animation studios and its theme park attractions, and I believe we will see evidence of this in the subs ride.

The lagoon and sub setting fit almost too perfectly with the recent, and enormously sucessful Finding Nemo, and though the subs may not return in their classic form, I do think we will see a return fo the subs renovated "disneystyle" to cash-in on the wildly popular movie. I may not know a lot, but I do know that it would be foolish for disney not to do this, as it seems like I said before, almost too perfect.

MonorailMan
12-25-2003, 06:54 PM
While true, the Disney/Pixar contract is about to expire soon, and IMHO, I don't think Disney wants to look so "desparate" to rely on Pixar's movies, or their tie-ins. :)

Loric
12-25-2003, 07:55 PM
Actually, Nemo is their one hope of saving Epcot's Living Seas pavillion.

An entire rockwork area with planting and character figures which is the backdrop for a Meet and Greet starring Nemo has already been constructed, and a few sections of the pavillion have been "Nemo-fied" to feature characters from the movie.

Only a few more "phases" left - to convert the films, and then the final step is unknown... Perhaps the long abandoned SeaCabs will reopen?

Hate to be the bummer, but it looks like WDW got it first, again.

tracilicious
12-26-2003, 08:10 AM