PDA

View Full Version : Pin Trading as an addiction...

encodedracing
09-24-2001, 12:28 PM
Hello all,

After reading David Koenig's latest mailbag, I was fairly shocked to read about the "mob of pin traders who attacked (...)" I have been to the park a few times, and while I've never personally experienced the behaviour that's documented in that mail (and in posts on this forum), I have seen the crowds around the various pin trading stations at times acting rather boisterous.

I asked a friend of mine who researches human behaviour about this, and in summary, here's what she has to say (note that this is my summary of her words, and not direct quotes. Also note that I am not a doctor):

- There are two types of collectors: "passive" collectors, and "active" collectors. The passive collector purchases/trades for/obtains an object because of its personal connection-- the collector identifies with what the item symbolizes, not the item itself. For example, "oh, I have this Michael Jordan rookie basketball card because I'm a huge Michael Jordan fan". The person connects with Michael Jordan. In addition, the passive collector only purchases an item when he/she identifies with what the item represents (in this case, purchasing a Mickey Mouse pin because he/she likes Mickey Mouse). Lastly, the passive collector will not go out of their normal daily routine in order to obtain an object for their collection (for example, if in looking through their change they find a valuable coin, they'll keep it, but they won't go out to a coin collecting convention).