PDA

View Full Version : Help with Grand Californian Hotel room options.

wenderella
08-31-2003, 02:59 PM
I need expert Disneyland advice. My Ex-husband and I are taking our two kids (7 and 5 years old) to Disneyland in early October. Although I have been taking them about every 6 months for the last two years, this will be our first trip together with dad. I have booked a room at a Good Neighbor Hotel on Harbor but the more I think about it I think I'd like to upgrade and stay at the Grand Californian Hotel since this is kind of a special trip. I am new to this hotel and do not know what to expect or ask for when I am talking to my travel agent. Do I want concierge level? And what kind of "extras" come with concierge? I have heard people talk about VP's on other posts and wonder if this is of any benefit? What kind of things do they do? The biggest question of all is...is it worth it? We are counting down the days to this trip. I have turned my kids into Disneyland fanatics and they can't wait to show their dad "the ropes". Any advice would help. Thanks!

dgdisney
08-31-2003, 03:38 PM
How fun! We finally got my husband to come with us for my 40th and stayed at GCH concierge level - my children were 7 and 3 at the time. We would definitely stay at GCH again but instead of concierge level I think we would make sure we got a great park view. The concierge was handy at breakfast time but the offerings were the usual cold things that you could have already put in a little refrigerator that they will happily put in your room when you arrive. The other offerings were a few snacks and bottled water - and cookies and milk at night during a story time that you could also attend downstairs near the fireplace. Didn't quite add up to $100 for my family.

For the extra $100 a day I would upgrade my view and use the Vacation Planners more. We had them leave the girls mouse ears and autograph books the first day but I think we would arrange for a few evening treats.