PDA

View Full Version : What makes DCA such a "train wreck"?

Pages : [1] 2

Anthony
08-20-2003, 04:37 PM
First, I am a DLR rookie, with my first trip planned for Mid-October. I apologize if this question is dumb, but... I have done a TON of reading here, and I really value your insight. One thing that is clear, is that DCA is sort of a 'Train Wreck' regarding popularity and DLR veterans not liking to visit the park.

If you could give me the 'finer points' of why DCA is weak, I would appreciate it, I am dying of curiosity.

Thanks.

Wanda Woman
08-20-2003, 04:47 PM
Hey Anthony!

Welcome!

Most DLR regulars (especially annual pass holders) do like DL much better than DCA. Why? Let's use you as a test subject, young, innnocent that you are. You say your first DLR outing will be in October, right? Here's your assignment: stop reading any DCA-bashing threads in MP right now. This will help keep your mind as clear and cleansed of bias as possible.

On your first day at DLR (you are going multi-days, right, since you are coming from Arizona?), go to DL. Enjoy. Soak it up. Remember how the place makes you feel.

On day two, go to DCA. Enjoy. Soak it up. Remember how it makes you feel.

Contrast. Compare. Discuss.

Your written report will be expected here within one week of your return.

Wanda Woman
:fez:

Anthony
08-20-2003, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the Good Tips!! I am all over it like a bad suit. I am excited about my trip, and I know my GF and I will have a great time. If nothing else, we are getting out of this heat!!! (last night at 6:00 pm it was 114)

I will post when we get back with a rookie's perspective.

merlinjones
08-20-2003, 05:50 PM
1) Lack of attractive and alluring entranceway. Unlike the beautiful, immersive Disneyland entry, DCA's is sparse and cheap and kitschy.

2) Most DCA architecture is only halfway themed. It isn't intended to make you think you are really "there" or somewhere else other than Anaheim.