PDA

View Full Version : Cast Member auditions

Pages : [1] 2

sancho
06-10-2003, 04:36 PM
I am just about to finish my college career (at least my undergrad degrees) and I am sort of unsure of what to do. I love DL and SoCal and have considered applying for employment at the DLR. My area of experience is that of hotels (front desk employee and manager for five years) but I would love to work anywhere in the resort. I have little to no dance experience, I have done some musical theatre, I am a man of 28 years...so how realistic is it for me to think that DL would employ me as a CM in something a bit higher than foods or custodial. What sort of skills do they look for.

HBTiggerFan
06-10-2003, 06:14 PM
Well you could work at the hotels (your experience is a plus) or you could work attractions, or you could work in many other positions (other than foods or custodial).

Just apply and interview, highlight your strenghts and play down your weaknesses. Just be aware that DL doesn't pay a living wage for most positions :rolleyes:

mousketeer
06-10-2003, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by HB Tigger Fan
Just be aware that DL doesn't pay a living wage for most positions :rolleyes:

You raise a very important issue. SoCal is one of the world's more expensive places to live; near the coast, don't expect to find single family property listed <= $500,000. I believe our living wage is something like $19 per hour, a far cry from the pittance Disney pays its hard-working cast members. As I've said before, try applying to work as a bank teller. It won't be as exciting, but you can always hope for a holdup ;) .

sancho
06-10-2003, 07:03 PM
what is the average salary for a cm. I would need to actually be able to pay my bills and would like to live in the OC area. Perhaps this is a pipe dream.

HBTiggerFan
06-10-2003, 07:15 PM
I think theres a thread around here somewhere, and the info is available on the Disneyland website. I'll poke around in a little bit.