PDA

View Full Version : New Orleans Jazz Band - Opinions/Audition Tips?

watkinz
05-08-2003, 08:20 AM
I hope this message is posted in the correct place. I'm relatively new to these boards.

Recently I was at in NOS and caught the last few minutes of the last set of the jazz band that was playing at a small stage on the patio of the French Market. (Hope that's the correct name of the place. :( )

I was really blown away by the drummer (Being a drummer myself). I decided to pull up a chair and was able to catch another set and the whole band was great!

This performance has raised some questions:

Does anyone else have any opinions about the band I'm referring to? Does anyone know if this band has the same line up for every performance, or is there a rotation of members? Does the same band perform at this location every time, or does Disneyland rotate the bands? Also, doe anyone happen to know how heavily Disney emphasizes sight reading?

Lastly, does anyone have any tips for auditioning or know someone who has auditioned to be a Disneyland Musician? (Any instrument.) I'm going to do my own research as far as auditioning, but I'm curious to hear about any past stories/experiences.

Thank you! (A ton of questions, I know. I'm just a little amped about the though of playing drums at Disneyland.)

Morrigoon
05-08-2003, 08:27 AM
Could be the Side Street Strutters or the Bayou Brass. They have CDs sold at the park.

corrinhorn
05-08-2003, 11:02 AM
first of all, how were they dressed, if the had on bowling shirts and such It would most likely be the Bayou Brass. Otherwise, it could have been the Side Street Strutters or River Rascals.