PDA

View Full Version : A few DVC questions.

RunninDisney
01-22-2011, 09:00 AM
I'm not ready to buy yet, but will be in about 6-9 months, and I have a few questions. Does it matter where your deeded at? You can stay at any DVC resort, right? Can you still get the dinning plan? How many years can you bank your points? Whats the best way to finance?

Thanks in advance!

gojoe
01-22-2011, 09:47 AM
I'm not an expert but you home resort is a 11 month window for booking all others are 7 months. Yes you can get the dining plan but you purchase it. You can bank your current use year to be used next use year only. You can also borrow from your next use year. Re-sale contracts are about to change, I've heard. Something about only using your home resort. Have not seen any official details yet. Disney can finance but at a premium price.

GusMan
01-22-2011, 03:06 PM
Does it matter where your deeded at?
--- Right now, if you buy from DVC, they are going to have certain resorts they are going to push. (ie: BLT and the one in HI.) However, if you tell them you want a different DVC resort, they may be able to accommodate you. However, the price scheme for older resorts will be pretty much the same as buying into BLT.

Some people say to buy where you like to stay. Some say to purchase where the overall cost of ownership (annual dues) is less. For us, we chose SSR because of the cost of ownership at the time.

Do look at the thread about resales. Resale is a great way to get a membership at an older resort, but it looks like they may change some rules that may or may not impact you.

You can stay at any DVC resort, right?
--- Yes. Like mentioned, you get to book at the 11 month mark at your home resort. 7 months at other DVC resorts. So, you need too keep that in mind when you pick a home resort.

Can you still get the dinning plan?