PDA

View Full Version : Aladdin: WOW! Christmas Fantasy: something's missing

hbquikcomjamesl
01-02-2003, 07:59 AM
I spent New Year's Eve in DLR (something I've been doing for quite a few years, since it's about the only place I CAN go to be around a bunch of other people having fun stone cold sober; before that, when I still worked at the late lamented Costa Mesa Ice Chalet, I used to run a local church group's skating/broomball party), and managed to get to everything I'd planned for the evening.

After arriving around 5 PM, and poking my nose into DL just long enough to size up the crowd and find out how late the BB would be open, I went over to DCA for the 6:15 Aladdin. (I'd originally planned on arriving early enough for the 4:45, but the best-laid plans of mice and men. . . .)

WOW!

I'd walked in, thinking, "It doesn't have to be another BLAST!; please just don't make it another 'Waste of Time'."

WOW!

I think it would do very well indeed, expanded to a full-length Broadway production. It's definitely worth watching as it is. More special effects (and body-doubles) than Phantom and Les Miz combined, and yet those special effects didn't upstage the singing or acting. It had its few awkward moments, but I'd say we have a winner here, worth nearly the DCA admission price by itself.

After Aladdin, I rushed back over to DL, to catch the Christmas Fantasy Parade. And once again, I was in for a disappointment: the whole "Edwardian Carolers" unit, which was the number one highlight of the whole parade for me, is missing for the second year in a row. Am I the only one noticing this gaping hole? With that whole unit missing, the music doesn't even line up properly!