PDA

View Full Version : DL New Year's 2003 merchandise

cstephens
12-23-2002, 11:38 AM
For anyone who's into this, they've released the new merchandise for New Year's 2003, including t-shirts, sweatshirts, mugs, buttons and other things. Yesterday (Sunday) at least, they were in the Gag Factory store in Toontown. At some point, maybe they'll move the stuff to the Emporium.

I'm not that crazy about this year's design, so this is the first time since 1998 that I haven't bought a t-shirt and/or sweatshirt. If I end up finding this merchandise on discount at a character warehouse, I'll probably pick it up there, but it's not like I'm in need of more Disney apparel.

If you're interested in what the merchandise looks like, here's a link to the pin that was released which has the logo style: http://www.pinpics.com/cgi-bin/pin.cgi?pin=17926&sid=4294.1040625077.

RStar
12-23-2002, 02:17 PM
I am not an artist, so I couldn't have done better myself. But couldn't they have come up with something better than that? Mickey doesn't even have a shirt on. Normally he is in a Tux.

Sad.

Not Afraid
12-23-2002, 02:47 PM
The pin in the link is cool. It evoks memories of the old and beautiful Disneyland Sign for me. Even better is the "red" pin seen here (http://www.dizpins.com/archives/2002december_3.htm) (about 3/4 of the way down the page). The last number spins so you can change the pin as the ball drops. What could be more exciting than that!;)

But, seriously, I do really like this year's designs. They have more flair than the ones from the past, IMHO. But I tend to really appreciate retro graphics - a la Tomorrowland Attraction Posters.

RStar
12-23-2002, 03:04 PM
I have to admit the red one is better. The "retro" look was the best feature of the pin. And I didn't think about the old sign when looking at the numbers on the pin.

Mostly, it's the green/teal color of the pin, and how Mickey shows up against it without any color to him. That's why without a shirt it looks funny.