PDA

View Full Version : Sinkhole

Mandrake Linux
06-28-2001, 10:15 PM
Instead of them filling that sinkhole with water, why not fill it up with concrete or anti-sink liquid?

AC/DC: Pulling an all nighter for a cup of free soda.

Mandrake Linux
06-29-2001, 02:19 PM
Ooh thanks alot! 53 stinkin views and no replies! Maybe I should just stop posting at this stupid site with no human activity whatsoever.

Alex S.
06-29-2001, 02:53 PM
Hey, ACDC, don't blame other people if your threads don't get a reply.

Probably, nobody knows. I would assume there is a good reason for not filling it with cement, but I am not an engineer and wouldn't know what it is.

Also, I am trying to fathom an "anti-sink liquid". It seems to me that a liquid that could prevent sinking would be a solid. There are liquids that will act as a solid during a sudden impact, but none that I can think of that would resist slow persistent forces.

Kevin Krock, if you see this, do you have any thoughts on anti-sink liquids?

merlinjones
06-29-2001, 03:40 PM
>>Instead of them filling that sinkhole with water, why not fill it up with concrete or anti-sink liquid? <<

Are you referring to DCA?

I heard if they leave the Submarine Voyage closed long enough, DCA will become a financial sinkhole.

Gauchograd99
06-29-2001, 11:31 PM
Not exactly a PhD in chemistry here (only a BS) but the idea of an "anti-sink" liquid brings a couple of things to mind. First would be an epoxy type compound. Filling this whole with an epoxy of the right matrix could work as long as they basically set up dams wherever the leaks are. Either that or the epoxy would have to basically cure into something like a liquid foam. Second idea would be far more expensive (read: not gonna happen)... the use of a grid of concrete and steel with a material poured in that would use the water already there as a catalyst and fill in the sinkhole as it expands, much like the foam used in surfboard production.