DisneyFan25863
03-12-2004, 02:26 PM
I got the following email today:
Dear user of Herron-family.com e-mail server gateway,
Your e-mail account will be disabled because of improper using in next three days, if you are still wishing to use it, please, resign your account information.
For more information see the attached file.
Have a good day,
The Herron-family.com team http://www.herron-family.com
Attatched was a file called TextDocument.zlo (obviously a malicous program of some sort)
The Headings from the email look like this Return-Path: <seventhseal@ibdeeming.com>
Delivered-To: herron-f-sean@herron-family.com
Received: (qmail 10630 invoked from network); 12 Mar 2004 17:25:30 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO your-u2kqgyfzmo) (62.197.174.162)
by host86.ipowerweb.com with SMTP; 12 Mar 2004 17:25:30 -0000
Date: Fri, 12 Mar 2004 19:27:19 +0200
To: sean@herron-family.com
Subject: Email account utilization warning.
From: administration@herron-family.com
Message-ID: <pptqwcvfgotnsellmyf@herron-family.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="--------upfcphuphdtfbccjspri"
Now, I know my email account is not going to be deleted by the mail server admistrator in three days. How? Well, I AM the mail server administrator! :rolleyes:
Now, does this mean my server has been hacked and is going to do this to any email addresses it encounters, or did they just find a way to route the mail from my server? My host is iPowerweb. Should I contact them about this?
Dear user of Herron-family.com e-mail server gateway,
Your e-mail account will be disabled because of improper using in next three days, if you are still wishing to use it, please, resign your account information.
For more information see the attached file.
Have a good day,
The Herron-family.com team http://www.herron-family.com
Attatched was a file called TextDocument.zlo (obviously a malicous program of some sort)
The Headings from the email look like this Return-Path: <seventhseal@ibdeeming.com>
Delivered-To: herron-f-sean@herron-family.com
Received: (qmail 10630 invoked from network); 12 Mar 2004 17:25:30 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO your-u2kqgyfzmo) (62.197.174.162)
by host86.ipowerweb.com with SMTP; 12 Mar 2004 17:25:30 -0000
Date: Fri, 12 Mar 2004 19:27:19 +0200
To: sean@herron-family.com
Subject: Email account utilization warning.
From: administration@herron-family.com
Message-ID: <pptqwcvfgotnsellmyf@herron-family.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="--------upfcphuphdtfbccjspri"
Now, I know my email account is not going to be deleted by the mail server admistrator in three days. How? Well, I AM the mail server administrator! :rolleyes:
Now, does this mean my server has been hacked and is going to do this to any email addresses it encounters, or did they just find a way to route the mail from my server? My host is iPowerweb. Should I contact them about this?