DisneyFan25863
12-24-2003, 10:50 AM
I got this in my inbox today:
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Downloading of Movies, MP3s and Software is illegal and punishable by law.
We hereby inform you that your computer was scanned under the IP 61.63.179.199 . The contents of your computer were confiscated as an evidence, and you will be indicated. In the next days, you'll get the charge in writing. In the Reference code: #38672, are all files, that we found on your computer.
The sender address of this mail was masked, to protect us against mail bombs.
- You get more detailed information by the Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
- Department for "Illegal Internet Downloads", Room 7350
- 935 Pennsylvania Avenue
- Washington, DC 20535, USA
- (202) 324-3000
The Sender email was r3dkod@localhost.dot.net (:rolleyes: )
There was also an attatchment (which Outlook blocked) called refcode38672.scr
Also, my IP has never been 61.63.179.199. They have always started with 200.something.something.something
The headers looked like this (my notes in red):
Return-Path: <r3dkod@localhost.dot.net>
Delivered-To: herron-f-sean@herron-family.com
(not me real e-mail. Anyways, the Herron-Family,com E-mail Server isn't even on my PC, it's on a shared server some 200 miles away)
Received: (qmail 55952 invoked from network); 24 Dec 2003 11:15:00 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO SERVER.net)(that looks suspicious) (80.146.99.161)
by 0 with SMTP; 24 Dec 2003 11:15:00 -0000
From: r3dkod@localhost.dot.net
To: sean@herron-family.com
Subject: You use illegal File Sharing ...
X-MailScanner: Scanned
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: XSMTP
Message-ID: <62346763610839.81693qmailV02.48@localhost.dot.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="=SERVER_e4b624460152fbc3679"
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
It looks spoofed to me. Does anyone think the attatchment is a virus? I couldn't identify it, but I dunno. If it was from the FBI, anyway, wouldn't they need a warrent or something to hack past 3 firewalls into my computer and take a look? And how would they know to use an email address who's server is not even remotly connected to that computer (and send it to a bogus email, and have my catchall get it?). And why would they spoof the email address?
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Downloading of Movies, MP3s and Software is illegal and punishable by law.
We hereby inform you that your computer was scanned under the IP 61.63.179.199 . The contents of your computer were confiscated as an evidence, and you will be indicated. In the next days, you'll get the charge in writing. In the Reference code: #38672, are all files, that we found on your computer.
The sender address of this mail was masked, to protect us against mail bombs.
- You get more detailed information by the Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI-
- Department for "Illegal Internet Downloads", Room 7350
- 935 Pennsylvania Avenue
- Washington, DC 20535, USA
- (202) 324-3000
The Sender email was r3dkod@localhost.dot.net (:rolleyes: )
There was also an attatchment (which Outlook blocked) called refcode38672.scr
Also, my IP has never been 61.63.179.199. They have always started with 200.something.something.something
The headers looked like this (my notes in red):
Return-Path: <r3dkod@localhost.dot.net>
Delivered-To: herron-f-sean@herron-family.com
(not me real e-mail. Anyways, the Herron-Family,com E-mail Server isn't even on my PC, it's on a shared server some 200 miles away)
Received: (qmail 55952 invoked from network); 24 Dec 2003 11:15:00 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO SERVER.net)(that looks suspicious) (80.146.99.161)
by 0 with SMTP; 24 Dec 2003 11:15:00 -0000
From: r3dkod@localhost.dot.net
To: sean@herron-family.com
Subject: You use illegal File Sharing ...
X-MailScanner: Scanned
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: XSMTP
Message-ID: <62346763610839.81693qmailV02.48@localhost.dot.net>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="=SERVER_e4b624460152fbc3679"
This is a multi-part message in MIME format.
It looks spoofed to me. Does anyone think the attatchment is a virus? I couldn't identify it, but I dunno. If it was from the FBI, anyway, wouldn't they need a warrent or something to hack past 3 firewalls into my computer and take a look? And how would they know to use an email address who's server is not even remotly connected to that computer (and send it to a bogus email, and have my catchall get it?). And why would they spoof the email address?